The Ombuds Advisory committee provides guidance to the ombuds. Former Executive Vice Chancellor Gene Lucas re-established the Ombuds Advisory Committee in 2005.

The Committee includes two faculty members, two staff members, one graduate student, and one undergraduate student. Faculty and staff representatives are appointed for two years, with the possibility of one additional consecutive term. After two terms, faculty and staff members must rotate off the committee for at least one year. Student representatives are appointed for one year. The graduate student is appointed by the Graduate Student Association upon recommendation of the GSA President or their designee and may serve one additional term. The undergraduate student is always the Goodspeed Intern, which changes is each year.

The Committee meets at least three times a year.

The Committee ensures that the ombuds are held accountable, and provides recourse for anyone who believes that the Office of the Ombuds has violated its Standards of Practice. It is responsible for receiving and responding to comments or complaints about the Office of the Ombuds. If you have a complaint about the Office of the Ombuds, you may contact one of the members listed below. Click here for more information about the process.

2023-24 Ombuds Advisory Committee Members

  • Steven Buratto, faculty representative
  • Tania Dunson, chair and staff representative
  • Jean Jones, staff representative
  • Stephanie Luong, undergraduate student representative
  • Jill Sharkey, faculty representative
  • TBD, graduate student representative